Asgreen back to winning ways

Kasper Asgreen is once again the best time triallist in Denmark. After being forced to miss last year’s edition due to injury, the 28-year-old returned at the start of the competition this Thursday and blitzed the individual time trial in Aalborg, held over a flat 39.6km course.

Victorious at the Nationals three years in a row between 2019 and 2021, Kasper showed from the very beginning of the race that he was a man on a mission, recording the fastest time at the first checkpoint and putting himself on track for a fourth success on home turf. At the next two splits, the man from Kolding kept increasing the lead, and thanks to a phenomenal average speed close to 52km/h, he took a comfortable victory after stopping the clock in 45:42.

“It feels great to win the ITT Nationals for the fourth time in my career. This success is more special than the others, because I had to fight and work hard in the last year or so to come back to my level, and this win is a confirmation of the good feeling I had in the last couple of weeks, both in training and races.”

“The course here in Aalborg was very much to my liking. I knew I was going pretty well from the start, and when I heard that I was 17 seconds ahead at the second split I got an extra boost of confidence that the win was within my reach, and kept riding hard. It’s really nice to cap off such a strong ride with a victory”, added Kasper, the 11th different Soudal Quick-Step rider to take a win this year.


Photo credit: ©Dorte Adelfred

Race details

1 Kasper Asgreen
Soudal - Quick Step
2 Mattias Skjelmose Jensen
Trek - Segafredo
3 Mikkel Bjerg
UAE Team Emirates
4 Niklas Larsen
Uno-X Pro Cycling Team
5 Frederik Muff Hansen
Team ColoQuick
6 Martin Toft Madsen
BHS - PL Beton Bornholm
7 Mathias Norsgaard J√łrgensen
Movistar Team
8 Lasse Norman Leth
Uno-X Pro Cycling Team
9 Julius Johansen
Intermarché - Circus - Wanty
10 Gustav Wang
Restaurant Suri - Carl Ras

Related items

Soudal Quick-Step to the National Championships

Soudal Quick-Step to the National Championships